alcester.jpg

Roman Alcester on show – missed it!

While I was visiting my sister near Stratford on Avon last weekend I picked up a brochure for Roman Alcester, and was planning to visit it on my way home last Tuesday, only to see that is open only Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Perhaps next time I visit … Meanwhile, I've seen the Roman Alcester website and learn that the mini-museum has been opened just a few months, since May 2004.

There is a web page on
the making of the display. It has a replica open archaeological trench as part of the attraction.

There's a good slide show of randomly selected objects from the searchable online catalogue

They say: Roman Alcester offers National Curriculum linked hands-on Schools Project. Contact Roman Alcester staff for details on 01789 762216.

There's also a 'Finds Friday' for people to bring finds for the Warwick Museum experts to look at. The next one is on 25th February.

All in all, it's a good website and it looks as though local schools have a good new resource.