Together with a number of ARLT members I attended David’s funeral in Street. It was a profoundly moving service and we were all quite numb with the shock of his sudden loss. His work for ARLT is inestimable and will be long remembered. I hope that I will be able to continue this ARLT blog and trust you will keep patience as I come to terms with the technology and establish a routine for providing a flow of news in a lively and interesting way. If I am ever tardy, I hope it will be enough to remind you that I am not only the Head of Classics but also the Examinations Officer of my school!
David Swift

4 Responses

  1. All so well put about David. Thank you.

    So glad to see the site coming to life again.

  2. Very sorry to hear that David had passed away. I look at this site almost daily and will greatly miss his enthusiasm for everything classical.

  3. I have only just realised the blog is up and running again! Thank you, David, for taking it on.
    David Parsons did an amazing job with this blog and his support helped me tremendously when I was first publicising the CICERO competition. After the first competition I sent him a few photos and was delighted to see them immediately turned into slideshows with special effects and his own lively commentary. This support gave me a huge boost – it means such a lot when someone gives such practical help!
    At the competition this year we made a special little video for David and I am really pleased that he was able to see it and to know how much we all appreciated his enthusiasm.

    • Thank you, Anne. I hope I can carry on David’s outstanding work and that the blog will continue to inform and entertain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

